Some of the blog post I read this a.m. inspired me to write a few thoughts.

I always exercise my memory banks by trying to remember those things I have forgotten from pure laziness, not thinking they, those memories, were important. They were and are.

Therefore, I try to remember the fine details of living at home as a child and as a young teenager. Sometimes it is painful. I could have been a better child or teenager. There were things left unsaid by all of us, not just me.

Today I did not dress warmly enough for my 64 degree house; not having turned up the thermostat. However, I remembered getting up in a rural wood house with no central air and heat, and after daddy had died, no wood fire in the middle bedroom to go and huddle close to. Therefore, the memory was sitting with mother in her robe, which I now have, by the gas heater in the big kitchen which had a counter, a side table and a round table along with the pie safe and a china cabinet built by Uncle Earnest. This one memory is sitting there, Mother with the hands around a cup of warm coffee, smiling, and me…I cannot see me. It is a good memory. Mother was such a kind person. I always wanted to build her a big house on the hill with every convenience. I never got to do that and I wonder if I had, would my sister have let other people live in it and not me ever?

Just thoughts on the second day of the New Year.

 

9 thoughts on “

  1. Sounds like another ‘what if?’ The memory of the cold home where you lived is a good one for being grateful for the comforts of today. You may not have been a perfect child, and as kind as your mom was, it’s likely she wasn’t perfect either. None of us are. It is what it is, and we move forward grateful for having had them in their lives at all. Warm hugs from Florida.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I think we all fit that description when we look back at younger selves. I read we tend to remember the negative more easily than the positive. I am trying harder to find those positive moments–surely they were there.

    Like

    • Thank you for your comment. I am making a concerted effort to find all the positives I can this year.
      The negatives send to keep popping out. I wonder if that has to do with how we feel about ourselves. How could we be those wonderful human beings because we do not deserve good things. Sometimes I wonder. I think it has to do with self image.

      Liked by 1 person

Voice your thoughts

