Slave Quilt

My 9 year old grandson had a school project where he had to interview senior citizens. My sister and I were chosen for certain questions. It was difficult for him to understand how everything was so different from what he lives each day. My daughter said he was having a difficult time understanding slavery and civil rights. I had participated in one and had heirlooms from the other. He had to pick a family heirloom to write about and he picked quilts because Mother had made each child and grandchild a quilt. Mine of course is now 75 years old but then there is the quilt made by my great grandfathers slaves. He had seven male slaves (women were not counted). Therefore, I took photos of these two quilts with explanations about each to him for his project.

Here are the photos I sent to him:

DSCF0003 Slave Quilt 3  Capturing  the border of the slave quilt. We estimate that the quilt was made in the early 1800’s.

 

 

 

The quilt is larger than the queen size bed.

DSCF0002 Slave Quilt

 

 

 

 

DSCF0004 Slave Quilt 4 a close up of the basket colors in the quilt…the hand stitching is very, very small.

 

DSCF0005 My Quilt

My quilt my Mom made for me when I was a baby

 

 

 

 

I try to show close-ups because some of the pieces come from flour sacks. Our dresses might be made from the flour sacks and then when to little cut into pieces for a quilt. General indication of a flour sack would be tiny flowers in the material.

DSCF0007 My Quilt 4                      DSCF0008 My Quilt 5

 

 

DSCF0006 My Quilt 2

Hope you enjoy my quilt show. I also have the last quilt my mother made.

I remember the days of the quilting frames always being up in the living room during winter and all the aunts, grandparents and neighborhood ladies being there laughing and stitching away.

I have my mother’s quilting frames but alas, they have never been put up in my house.

The lessons I could have learned about quilting were not learned, nor taught. I played the piano….whenever there was a task to be done Mother would say…go practice the piano…and I did…now you know why I never learned to cook or sew!

However, I did come in second in the State Musical Competition. My boyfriend, from childhood, came in first. I think they thought he played with more feeling. The piece we played was Meditation.

Because we have only one slave quilt (at least that is all my sister and I have), we think perhaps we need to place it on loan to a museum in Mississippi for all to enjoy. Each grandchild has their own quilt and I have two quilts to give to my two children….the first one for my daughter and the last one for my son.

What do you think?

16 thoughts on “Slave Quilt

  1. Enjoyed seeing the quilts and hearing the stories about each. I have two of Granny’s quilts. My Mother always worked outside the home, and she was not very domestic. I hate cooking and housework–guess I took after her!! I prefer to work in my flower gardens.

    Like

    • Hi Betty, I am not very domestic either. I like working outside as well even though my yard does not reflect my effort. I’m o.k. with housework but cooking is out of my realm of expertise!

      I was looking at Clytice’s 50th anniversary photos last night…and there we all were with “the pretty one” and your mom and Aunt Dee.

      Like

  2. Just love your posts, Linda. Awesome quilt work. Thanks for sharing.

    I remember the flour sack material too. Ma used to save them and make us girls blouses. We didn’t really appreciate them as we should have, as we were a bit ashamed that everyone knew where the cloth came from! Oh well, we managed. Blessings. 🙂

    Like

    • Thank you, Jeanne. I think in my part of the country (Mississippi) we were all so poor that we all had on flour sack blouses and skirts! I don’t know this now for sure…but I can remember that I was so thrilled just to have something new to wear….I could have felt a bit ashamed but once again, I don’t remember. I do know I love my quilts!

      Like

Voice your thoughts

