Daily Prompt: Toot Your Horn

Cover of "The Little Engine That Could: H...
Cover via Amazon

 

 

Where is the horn? What color is it? How big is it? Did I buy it? Did I make it? Which horn, if I find one, should I “toot”? the car, the dog whistle, or the train…I’ll take the train.

 

Therefore from Wikipedia:

 

The Little Engine that Could is an illustrated children‘s book that was first published in the United States of America in 1930 by Plat & Munck. The story is used to teach children the value of optimism and hard work. Based on a 2007 online poll, the National Education Association named the book one of its “Teachers’ Top 100 Books for Children.”[1]

 

The story’s “signature phrases” such as “I think I can” first occurred in print in a 1902 article in a Swedish journal.[2] An early published version of the story, “Story of the Engine that Thought It Could“, appeared in the New York Tribune, 8 April 1906, as part of a sermon by the Rev. Charles S. Wing.[2]

 

The first time the story appeared in print with the title The Little Engine that Could was in 1920 in a set of books entitled My Book House that was sold in the U.S. via door-to-door salespersons.[2] The My Book House version began “Once there was a Train-of-Cars; she was flying across the country with a load of Christmas toys for the children who lived on the other side of the mountain.”[2] The story was labeled “As told by Olive Beaupré Miller”; the first edition gave credit to Bragg, but subsequent editions did not as Miller subsequently concluded that “the story belonged to the realm of folk literature.”[2]

 

“I Think I Can” redirects here. For a song by The Pillows, see I Think I Can (song).”

 

Therefore, when I think of tooting my horn, I think of the Little Engine that Could. If I think I can, I can…no tooting of horns necessary. As Nike Ads state: Just Do It.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Toot Your Horn”

Voice your thoughts

