Episcopal Church of the Nativity

English: Episcopal Church of the Nativity in H...
English: Episcopal Church of the Nativity in Huntsville, Alabama. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)
Episcopal Church of the Nativity is a church in Huntsville, Alabama. It was built in the Gothic Revival style in 1859. It is noted as one of the most pristine examples of Ecclesiological Gothic architecture in the South. Wikipedia
When I was in grad school, Emile, the ninth rector of this church, and I were in the same group in one of my Psychology Classes. He was funny and wise; we became good friends.
This church held the first vigil for Aids victim, I believe. I know I was there because I was a volunteer counselor for The Aids Action Coalition when Sandra Moon was the Director. She later became the President of the Huntsville City Council. We have remained friends for years. I think when folk go through so many deaths together, perhaps the silver thread binds you together.
She finally left; I stopped being a volunteer when the last of my clients died and I attended the last funeral. Emile retired and they named the Education Hall for him.
My photo….a glimpse from the Courthouse Square
DSCF0016 Church of the Nativity

2 thoughts on “Episcopal Church of the Nativity”

Voice your thoughts

