William Blake

William Blake's frontispiece for Songs of Inno...

Image via Wikipedia

This Information copied from:

All The Hills Echoed

(I asked Stephen Scobieif he knew the name of the Blake poem Ginsberg often chanted at readings. This is what he sent me back. — Levi Asher)

Interpolated from poems in “Songs of Innocence” and “Songs of Experience” by William Blake

Nurse’s Song

When the voices of children are heard on the green
And laughing is heard on the hill,
My heart is at rest within my breast
And everything else is still.

“Then come home, my children, the sun is gone down
And the dews of night arise;
Come, come, leave off play, and let us away
Till the morning appears in the skies.”

“No, no, let us play, for it is yet day
And we cannot go to sleep;
Besides, in the sky the little birds fly
And the hills are all cover’d with sheep.”

“Well, well, go & play till the light fades away
And then go home to bed.”
The little ones leaped & shouted & laugh’d
And all the hills echoed.

When the voices of children are heard on the green
And whisp’rings are in the dale,
The days of my youth rise fresh in my mind,
My face turns green and pale.

Then come home, my children, the sun is gone down,
And the dews of night arise;
Your spring & your day are wasted in play,
And your winter and night in disguise.

(Allen Ginsberg)

8 thoughts on “William Blake

  1. I met one of my good friends when she was reading William Blake. She was 16 and I was an “older” woman of near-26. We’re still friends. She still reads Blake, but for some reason I haven’t grown up into him yet. Maybe now?

    Like

    • I don’t know. It might be troublesome for you….one never knows about these things. You could try a few poems and see how they go down.

      A little older might be better. I’m not sure Blake would like you frolicking all over the place to Destination Weddings and such. But then, maybe he would.

      Like

Voice your thoughts

