Virtual turned Real

The postman came today at his usual time, however, I strolled down to the mailbox to actually get the mail before dark. It is a beautiful day here in the Tennessee Valley. I noted that the forsythia was blooming (totally confused) and the snowball bush is budding (confused also) and then opened the box.

There were the usual flyers and request for donations because this is the season; I have participated in this as well; but as I slowly walked back to the house there was this Christmas card. I looked at the return address and knew I knew this person but in another world…the blogger world…but now here she was in the real world! Isn’t it strange how we assign people to different compartments in our mind.

Opening the card with anticipation of seeing how the virtual translates to real, there was the connection…The Little Drummer Boy, my favorite, and from Women’s Window, Jeanne Webster, who dared to manifest herself in my real world. How Delightful! SHE IS REAL and I have the card to prove it.

Thank you, Jeanne and I’m glad you live in both worlds now!

Author: purpleborough

Thankful that I was given the honor of rearing two great children.

13 thoughts on “Virtual turned Real”

  1. ๐Ÿ™‚ I just had to send you that card, as you had written you liked the drummer boy best in your collection of photos. And that very same day, I opened my box of cards to send out and there it was, waiting for me to guide it to your hands. Blessings!

    Like

    1. I don’t think I have one. I have not been asked before. I am almost 74, have a Ph.D. in Urban Higher Education, two Masters degrees…Counseling Psychology and Special Education, B.A. in English/French/Journalism/Music and none of those made me whom I am today. My roots propelled me to here! Education may have helped, however, the education received growing up on a dirt farm taught the lessons of life.

      Like

    1. Thank you Jakesprinter….I checked your blog and tried to leave a comment but it did not post there. Your breakfast post brought home the luxuries we have of food as well as news in a very strong way.

      Like

  2. Check Two Minutes of Grace on Sunday. I’ve decided to make it my Christmas card to you. ๐Ÿ˜‰
    You’ll have to let me know if you like this version. It’s not traditional so I hope it won’t ruin it for you. It’s my favorite.

    Like

  3. Dear Linda –
    I bumped you a week – saving your Christmas card for Christmas Sunday… but it’s still especially for you. (I’ve had the flu and didn’t realize that Christmas was even on Sunday and so… one more week)

    Like

  4. Linda, this is a beautiful story! I’m meeting such lovely new friends in “blog land”, too–and Debbie (Two Minutes of Grace) is a special sister to me! Have a blessed day.

    Like

Voice your thoughts

