Throw Under a Bus

The Scapegoat

Image via Wikipedia

THROW UNDER A BUS v. 1. To act in a manner, or to take action that directly or indirectly results in adverse effects to a person lacking any means of limiting the offending action or avoiding the resulting hardships. Ex. The court threw the student under a bus when they vacated the rules he spent seven months writing about. http://www.wordwizard.com

Yesterday I was accused of throwing the Director and her other volunteers “under the bus.” Never have I been accused of this action. All this transpired because a desk would not be given and I offered this opinion: Only one person can sit at a desk whereas two people can work at a table, therefore, a table would be efficient, I think. This statement was made to the owner after he said that the office desk requested was not available. You see, there had been discussion with her without me; me without her; therefore, the confusion. He left and then this statement:

Director: “Linda, you just threw all of us “under the bus”. I wanted it to be pretty for the volunteers.”

Me: “I am sorry. It is your responsibility to make the choice of office furniture. I had no intention to throw anyone “under the bus”. I will go back in and retract.”

“No” she said, “I will take care of it. Will probably get another folding table. He won’t go and buy a desk.”

I would suppose I should no longer volunteer at this facility. Does this statement not mean that now I am the scape goat for everything that could go wrong? What does it mean? What should I do?

Volunteering was highly touted by my sister. Of course, she is a docent at the Governor’s Mansion and the Eudora Welty House; at her church and the Historical Commission. Feeling I should perhaps step foot outside the house for more than groceries, I decided to volunteer and found this place by accident. Perhaps I should have performed a background search. It is a very new facility without 501(c)(3) status, as yet. I don’t know what any of that has to do with volunteering. Perhaps I thought I would find a friend because my old friends and I have moved in different directions.

Not only did I not find a friend, I have now thrown the director and other volunteers “under the bus” according to the director. It does not matter that I had no ill intentions.

Don’t think I am ready for people as yet. Perhaps I never will be.

(c) 2011

2 thoughts on “Throw Under a Bus

  1. I will never be ready for people. Never.

    By the way, I thought I had already subscribed to this blog. I used to get them in my mail. Now I went and looked, and I wasn’t subscribed …until now.

    Like

Voice your thoughts

