purpleborough:

This blog by Two Minutes of Grace is so powerful I wanted to share with those who read this blog.

Originally posted on Two Minutes of Grace:

Stop trying to protect, to rescue, to judge, to manage the lives around you. Remember that the lives of others are not your business. They are their business. They are God’s business. Even your own life is not your business. It also is God’s business. Leave it to God. It is an astonishing thought. It can become a life-transforming thought . . . unclench the fists of your spirit and take it easy. ~ Frederick Beuchner

Now here’s a challenging concept. Not only is your business none of my business, my business is none of my business, too.

These are two equally difficult lessons to learn: holding my tongue and unclenching my fists.

Several years ago I read a wonderful book Don’t Take My Grief Away by Doug Manning. He recounts the variety of responses others had to his personal grief.

People alternately insisted on correcting, rescuing, managing and judging…

View original 107 more words

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to

  1. Rebekah says:

    I read it. It was very good, true and thought provoking. I’m glad you re-blogged it.

    Like

    • Thanks, Rebekah…me, too. My comment there is the same here. I have had many well meaning family and friends telling me what to do and none mentioned God in the equation so I wait to hear that small inner voice.

      Like

  2. @Rebekah….I stole your theme!

    Like

  3. Lori DiNardi says:

    Very good. Thanks for sharing it Linda. I had two powerful reasons to grieve (thus far) at different times in my life. No one would acknowledge my grief. They wanted me to put it behind me and move on. From that experience, I vowed to always validate other people’s grief for them, and give them a consoling hand to hold. Thanks again. Blessings to you.

    Like

  4. magsx2 says:

    Hi Linda,
    Very nice and very powerful words. :)

    Like

  5. Anonymous says:

    Excellent!

    Like

  6. ceceliafutch says:

    Wow. What a powerful post… and the thought that not even our own business is our business. Oy… will have to repost this. Thank you for sharing this with us. Blessings to you.

    Like

  7. Pingback: Is God Retiring? « A SECOND CUP

Leave a Reply

